Please review the site Rules, Terms of Service, and Privacy Policy at your convenience. Rules, TOS, Privacy
Get familiar with the reaction system: Introducing the Reaction System

OT low temp lubrication

Guy at work gave me a pop up style ice shack for free , but it did need some work . Long story short , I replaced the two poles that had broke. After I set it up I studied the design a little bit and figured out that when you collapse the shack ( it folds in on itself ) that the ball and socket joints kind of bind up, and Im sure get worse when things get ice build up even though the joints are inside of the shack. The ball sockets are made of nylon plastic type of material. My thought was to lube those sockets with something . Do any of you know of a low temp lube that will stay viscous in low temp weather ( 0 degrees and below)? Thought about maybe graphite ? 

Comments

• If it is nylon on nylon, there are very few things that will make it more slippery. Nylon is considered self-lubricating, which is why it is commonly used in applications like this. If it is damaged, however - the only thing that will create more ease of use is to try and repair or replace.

If it is constructed something like aluminum on nylon, you could inspect the aluminum for signs of galling or other deformation.

You could try inspecting for mechanical binding within the entire assembly, as well. 

Otherwise, avoid any petroleum or primarily petroleum based or petroleum like lubricants - stick with vegetable oil (really) or WD-40. 
    I have a signature.
  • edited February 2018
    I should add that might be Delrin, which is an amazing material for many purposes. It is fairly particularly solvent-resistant, however - but it can be broken down by common chemicals and heat. 
    I have a signature.
  • My advice is to see why the sockets are binding.  Might be a plastic molding line that need to be trimmed and smoothed.

John H, btw forum has decided I don't get emails