Please review the site Rules, Terms of Service, and Privacy Policy at your convenience. Rules, TOS, Privacy
Get familiar with the reaction system: Introducing the Reaction System

My new tube preamp build

Comments

• Yeah but nothing beats the portability of the AccuMASTER device.  I can see myself using it to make sure I'm still standing straight at the bar.  When it hits 45 degrees, it's time to go home. 
    Turn24thtryPWRRYDkennykS7910D1PP1NThumperTom
    My signature goes here
  • Cool looking inlay.  When you glue that up, how do you keep the glue from oozing out the top and messing up the finish?  Your board looks very clean along the edge.
  • Yeah great question.  Not sure if I did it correctly since this is my first try.  The inlay fit was tight, so much so I had to tap it into the slot with a hammer.  I brushed yellow wood glue into the slot and rolled some more glue onto the inlay.  Then I tapped it into place.  Quite a lot of glue squeezed out so I used a damp cloth to wipe everything clean (several times), then a dry cloth.  I clamped it up and let it dry over night. The inlay was sitting proud about a 1/16th so I planed it down.  I still need to sand the whole thing smooth.  I plan on doing that after the wooden case is all glued together.  We'll see.
  •  My compound miter is off both on blade angle and cuts. 

D1pp1n, I have noticed what you're saying about the rails flexing.  The further the saw is extended, the easier it is to flex.  Whacking the ends of 2x4's for studs, it's no problem, but making longer 10' or so cuts, like needed for building boxes, is a major pain.  The way it locks in place makes it very hard to set so it cuts a straight line.  Get the blade trued with a square and try and lock it down and the guide snaps into place at its preset indent, which is right back where I started from.  Aggravating to say the least.  I've resorted to just marking the wood with a square and cutting along the dotted line.